Connect with us


GGFN’S Germany squad for Euro 2024



Julian Nagelsmann announces his Germany squad for Euro 2024 on Thursday and it will likely be a talking point about who is, and who isn’t included in the squad. So here at GGFN, we will jump the gun and produce our own 26-man squad for Euro 2024 and to add fuel to the fire, our starting 11s.

Goalkeepers: Manuel Neuer, Marc-André ter Stegen, Alexander Nübel

Defenders: Joshua Kimmich, Jonathan Tah, Antonio Rüdiger, Nico Schlotterbeck, Maximilian Mittelstädt, Benjamin Henrichs, David Raum, Waldemar Anton, Mats Hummels

Midfielders: Toni Kroos, Jamal Musiala, Florian Wirtz, Ilkay Gundogan, Robert Andrich, Thomas Müller, Leon Goretzka, Pascal Groß, Jan-Niklas Beste

Attackers: Niclas Füllkrug, Deniz Undav, Kai Havertz, Leroy Sané, Chris Führich

Starting 11 (4-2-3-1): Manuel Neuer, Joshua Kimmich, Antonio Rüdiger, Jonathan Tah, Maximilian Mittelstädt, Toni Kroos, Robert Andrich, Leroy Sané, Florian Wirtz, Jamal Musiala, Niclas Füllkrug

You must be thinking, why is captain Ilkay Gündogan not starting, well against France and the Netherlands he was rather non-existent in both games. I also believe in variety and having Florian Wirtz, Jamal Musiala and Gundogan as well as potentially Havertz on the pitch at the same time will do more harm than good. That is why I have gone for Leroy Sané and Niclas Füllkrug to line up with Wirtz and Musiala in attack as they offer different qualities.

I have also included Leon Goretzka in the 26-man squad, instead of someone like Pavlovic. Why? Well as good as Pavlovic is on the ball, in the dying moments of a knockout round when others are tired, I think Goretzka would offer a much-needed energetic boost to the team as well as experience that Pavlovic does not possess.

Goalkeepers: Manuel Neuer, Marc-André ter Stegen, Alexander Nübel

Defenders: Jonathan Tah, Nico Schlotterbeck, Mats Hummels, Malick Thiaw, Joshua Kimmich, Benjamin Henrichs, Maximilian Mittelstädt, Antonio Rüdiger, David Raum

Midfielders: Toni Kroos, Aleksander Pavlovic, Ilkay Gündogan, Jamal Musiala, Leon Goretzka, Jan-Niklas Beste, Pascal Groß, Florian Wirtz, Robert Andrich, Chris Führich

Attackers: Niclas Füllkrug, Kai Havertz, Leroy Sané, Deniz Undav,

Starting 11 (4-2-3-1): Manuel Neuer – Joshua Kimmich, Antonio Rüdiger, Jonathan Tah, Maximilian Mittelstädt – Toni Kroos, Robert Andrich – Leroy Sané, Florian Wirtz, Jamal Musiala – Kai Havertz

If you take into account Germany’s games against France and the Netherlands, I think that’s pretty much nailed on to be Julian Nagelsmann’s preferred XI. The decision to persuade Toni Kroos to come out of international retirement could prove to be a masterstroke and alongside now Bundesliga champion Robert Andrich, Germany have a strong midfield pivot.

There’s no place for Ilkay Gündogan and I think Nagelsmann will opt for two 10s with Florian Wirtz and Jamal Musiala with Leroy Sané injecting pace. While Kai Havertz doesn’t offer a presence in the box, his movement ahead of Wirtz/Musiala could prove troublesome.

I also don’t think we’ll see any shock inclusions in the squad. Hoffenheim’s Maximilian Beier has been excellent this season, but it feels like a tournament too soon, while Chris Führich and Deniz Undav remain excellent options off the bench.

Goalkeepers: Manuel Neuer, Marc-André ter Stegen

Alexander Nübel – Despite having yet to make an appearance for the German national team, Nübel has enjoyed a successful season with Stuttgart, and appears to be the third-best German goalkeeper at this moment in time.

Defenders: Joshua Kimmich, Benjamin Henrichs, Maximilian Mittelstädt, David Raum, Antonio Rüdiger, Jonathan Tah, Nico Schlotterbeck, Waldemar Anton

Malick Thiaw – Perhaps the most controversial inclusion so far, more for the fact that Mats Hummels misses out on the tournament. With the high-line Germany likes to play under Julian Nagelsmann, Thiaw, as the fifth-choice CB would be a better fit than Hummels, while also offering the youngster further experience with the national team.

Midfielders: Toni Kroos, Robert Andrich, Jamal Musiala, Leroy Sané, Florian Wirtz, Chris Führich, Jan-Niklas Beste, İlkay Gündoğan, Aleksandar Pavlović

Pascal Groß – It has been well reported on GGFN why Pascal Groß should be called up for EURO 2024. While he may not be a starter, the way he can influence a game and create a moment of magic could make the Brighton midfielder a useful option from the bench for Julian Nagelsmann.

Attackers: Deniz Undav, Niclas Füllkrug, Kai Havertz

Thomas Müller – A difficult inclusion; however, one that may prove to be important. Maximilian Beier was the other candidate for this role, and while he would offer pace to an otherwise rather slow forward line, there are three other candidates in front of him who are have more experience finding the back of the net. While Müller would also struggle for game time, the leadership qualities he possesses could be vital for Germany.

Starting XI (4-2-3-1): Manuel Neuer, Joshua Kimmich, Antonio Rüdiger, Jonathan Tah, Maximilian Mittelstädt, Toni Kroos, Robert Andrich, Jamal Musiala, Florian Wirtz, Leroy Sané, Kai Havertz

Perhaps a surprise inclusion over David Raum, Mittelstädt has proven to be just as dangerous than Raum this season in the attacking third. Despite having less freedom than the Leipzig full-back, Mittelstädt can still boast four assists and two goals in the Bundesliga, but the Berlin native is far more astute in the defensive third. In attack, while Havertz may not be the most lethal of forwards that Germany have at their disposal, he offers more in build-up play than Undav and Füllkrug. He has also shown at Arsenal this season that he knows where the back of the net is.

Goalkeepers: Manuel Neuer, Alexander Nübel, Marc-André ter Stegen.

Defenders: Jonathan Tah, Antonio Rüdiger, Mats Hummels, Maximilian Mittelstädt, Waldemar Anton, Nico Schlotterbeck, David Raum, Benjamin Henrichs.

Midfielders: Toni Kroos, Joshua Kimmich, Pascal Groß, Ilkay Gündoğan, Robert Andrich, Chris Führich.

Attackers: Florian Wirtz, Kai Havertz, Serge Gnabry, Leroy Sané, Thomas Müller, Niclas Füllkrug, Maximilian Beier, Jamal Musiala, Deniz Undav.

Starting XI (4-2-3-1): Manuel Neuer – Joshua Kimmich, Jonthan Tah, Antonio Rüdiger, Maximilian Mittelstädt – Toni Kroos, Robert Andrich – Florian Wirtz, Jamal Musiala, Leroy Sané – Kai Havertz.

Ver detalles de la publicación

Continue Reading